Trill Matrix at the Clemente

The female collaborative group, Trill Matrix, has undertaken an experimental exhibition employing an open approach, rather than an umbrella approach. The artists of Trill Matrix have traveled on overlapping paths in New York City’s art communities, and in their art practices. While their artwork demonstrates a variety of strategies and materials, and they are from diverse backgrounds, they appreciate their commonalities in a hectic world and divisive cultural moment, and pass around hats as to the curatorial/organizational roles each engages. This show is curated by Elizabeth Riley. “Trill” is an adjective used in hip-hop culture to describe someone who is considered to be well respected, coming from a combination of the words “true” and “real;” while “matrix” is a situation or surrounding substance within which something else originates, develops, or is contained. Featuring work by: Christina Massey, Jaynie Crimmins, Nancy Baker, Linda Schmidt , Elizabeth Riley, Etty Yaniv, Christine Romanell .

Clemente                                       
107 Suffolk Street, 2nd Floor
New York, NY  

TRILL MATRIX reviews:
Arte Fuse by Johnathan Goodman
ANTE Arts Mag by Audra Lambert

Posit 19 A journal of literature and art

Honored to have my work on the cover of Posit 19 with a fantastic text by Melissa Stern.

Etty Yaniv’s densely layered assemblage and collage works make one keenly aware of the materiality of her practice. Her pieces pop off of the canvas, and then sink back into it. The fluidity with which her rich and wide array of materials are handled —from found objects to paint and paper — creates the impression that her pieces were “born” the way we find them. Although labor- and process-intensive, this work has a deep sense of grace. Each of these pieces carries us through its private narrative, enveloping us in its own story. “

-Melissa Stern, Posit 19

Alignable Angles at University of Bridgeport, Schelfhaudt Gallery

Alignable Angles (degrees of points of view)
2017 Exhibition @ Schelfhaudt Gallery
Curated by Peter Konsterlie

DATES OF EXHIBITION: Oct. 20th –  Jan. 20th, 2018
Gallery hours are Monday through Friday, 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Saturday, 12 to 4 p.m.

OPENING: Friday, Oct. 20th, 5:00- 7:30 (with performance by Adam Niklewicz)

Participating Artists:

David Borawski
Joseph Fucigna
Elliott Katz
Adam Niklewicz
Amy Vensel
Etty Yaniv

Unexpected, what is a painting?

Artists: Gregory coates, Steve DeFrank, Monica Delgado, pat Lay, Laura Petrovich-Cheney, Kaare Rafoss, Christine Romanell,  Fausto Sevila, Eric Vlosin, Gail Winbury and Etty Yaniv. Curated by Gail Winbury and Paul Pinkman.

Sept 5through Sep 30th, 2017; Reception: Sun, Sept 10, 1-4pm, Watchung Arts Center, NJ

BIGGER, BOLDER, BETTER at Chashama

BIGGER, BOLDER, BETTER

A GROUP ART EXHIBITION WITH CHASHAMA @chashama CURATED BY JAYNIE CRIMMINS, CHRISTINA MASSEY & ETTY YANIV

470 VANDERBILT AVE, BROOKLYN, NY 11238

May 30th - June 17th

Opening Reception Friday, June 2nd, 6-8pm

Hours: Thurs – Sun, 10-6 and by appointment by contacting info@cmasseyart.com

Featuring Artists:

Nancy Baker: http://www.nancysbaker.com/

Lorrie Fredette: http://www.lorriefredette.com/site-specific.html

Dana Kane: https://www.danakane.com/

Niki Lederer: http://nikilederer.com/

Susan Luss: http://www.susanluss.com/

Ellie Murphy: http://ellie-murphy.com/

Mia Pearlman: http://miapearlman.com/

Jaanika Peerna: https://www.jaanikapeerna.net/

Elizabeth Riley: http://elizabethrileyprojects.com/

Alyse Rosner: http://alyserosner.com/

Carol Salmanson: https://www.carolsalmanson.com/

Suzan Shutan: http://www.suzanshutan.com/

Jennifer Wroblewski: https://www.jenniferwroblewski.com/

Jaynie Crimmins: http://www.jayniecrimmins.com/

Christina Massey: http://www.cmasseyart.com/

Etty Yaniv: http://www.ettyyanivstudio.com/

Fractured Union at In-Case Art Projects

Opening Reception: Fri, May 12th, 6-9PM, through June 24th

Performance at 8:30PM Legacy Fatale will march in a formation of female warriors activating through the “Fractured Union” exhibit and culminating in a choreographed performance. 

In-Case Art Projects launches its first exhibition with ”Fractured Union”,

Artists: Patricia Cazorla and Nancy Saleme, Nicholas Cueva, Mike Estabrook, Patricia Fabricant, Nick Greenwald, Peter Gynd, Vandana Jain, Aaron Krach, Meryl Meisler, David Nakabayashi, Sharilyn Neidhardt, Michael Scoggins and Alex Gingrow, Fedele Spadafora, Cibele Vieira, Rhonda Wall.

curated by Etty Yaniv and Jaynie Gillman Crimmins.

Nothing Twice at John Doe Gallery

March 10 - March 26, 2017
Opening Reception: March 10, 6-8pm

Artists: Nancy Baker, Jaynie Crimmins, Helen O’Leary, Christina Massey, Leah Tacha, Julia Von Eichel, Etty Yaniv.

Curated: Etty Yaniv

JOHN DOE
112 waterbury st | brooklyn, ny 11206 | johndoe-ny.com |

http://artinbrooklyn.com/2017/02/only-once-at-john-doe-gallery/

Precarious Constructs @ Venus Knitting Art Space

Precarious Constructs

Opening Reception: Friday, Dec 9th, 20167-10PM

Performance: Mis-readings / Drafting a strand, 9 – 9:30 pm and Sun, 18th, 3 – 4 pm

Dec 9th – Dec 18th  

Artists:         Uta Bekaia, Alexandra Leyre Mein, Levan Mindiashvili

                   Andrew Cornell Robinson,  Matt Stone

                    Liz Sweibel,  Etty Yaniv

                    Performance: Milcah Bassel, and Amanda Thackray

                    Co-Curated by Etty Yaniv & Levan Mindiashvili